A Burning Me

Abba Lot went to see Abba Joseph and said to him,  “Abba, as far as I can, I say my little office, I fast a little, I pray and meditate, I live in peace and as far as I can, I purify my thoughts.  What else can I do?  Then the old man stood up and stretched his hands toward heaven.  His fingers became like ten lamps of fire and he said to him, “If you will, you can become all flame.”

Joseph of Panephysis 7, The Sayings of the Desert Fathers:  The Alphabetical   Collection

I have spent years waiting for the next burning bush.  I say “next” because one would never suffice.  What job do I take?  Which decision do I make?  What next?

I read the words of Abba Joseph, and I wonder if I am the “next” burning bush.  Can I burn and not be consumed?

Burning Bush Luminaries for Shavuot DIY Tutorial

I wonder if Abba Joseph and Moses were only encountering God from two different perspectives, the transcendence and immanence of God, the God beyond and the God within.  Perhaps, this is what Moses later discovered when he began to burn with a bright light after meeting with God.

A burning me… on fire and yet not consumed.  Maybe, beyond doing the right thing, I would become the “right” thing.

Leave a Reply

